News / 18 April, 2017

Fresh board for Te Kōhanga Reo

Te Kōhanga Reo National Trust has completed elections for a new board designed to give the 450 Kōhanga Reo a greater say in guiding the organisation.

An overhaul of the board has been a sticking point in its long-running row with Education Minister Hekia Parata.

Her successor will have to deal with a board that includes former minister Dame Tariana Turia, the Aotea and Ikaroa choice, and Te Mātāwai chair Waihoroi Shortland from Te Taitokerau and Te Raki Pae Whenua.

Te Puea Marae chair Hurimoana Dennis will represent Tamaki Makaurau ki te Tonga and Tainui.

Te Wheoro Rangikotua was elected by the voters of Tauranga Moana, Mataatua, Waiariki, and Tuwharetoa, which were the rohe leading the charge for more transparency in the organisation.

Te Tairawhiti and Kahungunu elected Matua Hook, while Sue Tipene will represent Te Waipounamu and Wharekauri.

The new members will take up their positions in June.


Copyright © 2017, UMA Broadcasting Ltd:

Read more: Fresh board for Te Kohanga Reo

The magazine

The MagazineSubscribe

Connect with Mana

facebook twitter instagram

Subscribe to our free newsletter for news and prizes